Experienced Lawyers Defending Against Underage Drinking and Driving
Being pulled over and charged with Driving While Intoxicated is difficult for anyone. But it is particularly difficult for people who are under the age of 21. Underage drinking and driving creates unique issues for the person who has been charged and a conviction carries with it more serious, long-term consequences.
In Minnesota, you cannot drive with more than 0.08-percent of alcohol in your blood. So, a 16 or 17 year old with a DUI ticket will be tried in adult court, making them subject to the same penalties as if they were an adult. Because Minnesota has a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving, it means those under the age of 21 cannot have a drop of alcohol when operating a vehicle. Not even a sip of beer.
Zero Tolerance for Underage DWI
It is a misdemeanor for anyone under age 21 to be driving after drinking any alcohol: beer, spirits, wine, anything with alcohol. As a misdemeanor, upon conviction the person can be facing up to 90 days in a county jail along with a possible fine of as much as $1,000. The sentence may also include probation along with being required to attend an alcohol education program or treatment, not to mention a lengthy loss of driving privileges.
Because of this, anyone who has been ticketed needs to have an experienced underage DUI attorney from Sieben Edmunds Miller working on their behalf.
Additional Consequences for Underage DWI in Minnesota
Even if a person escapes with just a stiff fine, there may well be longer-term damage to a young person. The most-serious impact on a young person is that a conviction record could well have a negative affect on their ability to attend the college of their choice, obtain employment especially if the job requires driving, and can raise red flags for employers, admission officials, and even rental agents when it is time to get an apartment. Beyond this, the young person’s license to drive will be revoked for at least 30 days, and often much longer. Also, it could prevent someone from obtaining a learner’s permit or a new license until the individual is 18.
Why You Need a Minnesota Underage Drinking and Driving-DUI Lawyer
Clearly, there is a lot riding on the disposition of the case. This is why you or your parents need to retain an underage drinking and driving attorney to fight for you, your rights, and your future. Sieben Edmunds Miller’s, Minneapolis criminal defense lawyers and St.Paul criminal defense lawyers are experienced at defending young people against a charge of underage drinking and driving. We will ask you about the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Because we understand the law and how prosecutors think, we can help build a defense that could lead to a successful outcome.
If you’re facing an Underage Drinking and Driving charge, you can trust the experienced Minnesota lawyers at Sieben Edmunds Miller to advocate for you. We proudly serve the cities of Burnsville, Bloomington, Minneapolis, Woodbury, Eagan, Mendota Heights, St. Paul, Hastings, Hudson, and River Falls in Underage Drinking and Driving cases. We also serve surrounding cities in Dakota County and throughout Minnesota and Wisconsin.
Get a Free Case Evaluation
We are here to help. Let us evaluate your case for you. Free of charge – no obligation. Complete our free case evaluation form or call us directly at (651) 323-2464.
Recent Blog Posts
Changes to Minnesota’s DWI Forfeiture Laws: How They Affect Defendants
Recent changes to Minnesota’s property seizure laws aim to make it easier for defendants who are found not guilty to regain possession of property seized at the time of their arrest or during a lawful search. Property seizure is common in several types of criminal...
Reasonable Suspicion for a DWI Charge: Is Swerving Enough?
Here’s a situation our Minnesota DWI lawyers frequently encounter: a driver is stopped on suspicion of DWI. When they ask the law enforcement officer why they were pulled over, they learn that they have been accused of swerving while driving. If they are subsequently...
How Long Does A DWI Stay On Your Record in Minnesota?
A DWI conviction can make life very difficult. It may affect your ability to get a new job, rent a house or apartment, or travel to countries with strict DWI laws. Understandably, many people who have been convicted of a DWI wonder how long they’ll have to deal with...
Is Hungover Driving Illegal in Minnesota?
If you’re on the mend from a big night out drinking, you may be experiencing the unpleasant effects of a hangover: headache, fatigue, nausea, and general unease. We usually assume that a hangover means we’ve slept off the alcohol and we’re ready to start our day. But...
Minnesota’s Implied Consent Laws: Refusing DWI Chemical Testing
Implied consent means that when a driver chooses to get behind the wheel, they are consenting to a sobriety test. Minnesota’s implied consent laws are meant to encourage drivers to comply with testing, and they impose penalties on any driver who refuses to take a...
Minnesota’s Zero Tolerance for Teens Drinking and Driving
DWIs are one of the most common criminal charges in Minnesota. Some estimates show that one out of every seven drivers in Minnesota has a DWI on their record. Since prosecutors see this charge often, it can be difficult to avoid a DWI conviction without compelling...
Free Case Evaluation
Note: The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.