DWI Offense Levels and Consequences in Minnesota
Not all DWIs are considered equal in the eyes of the law. The level of crime you are charged with has a significant impact on the charges brought against you. It’s important to know the different Minnesota Crime Classifications and how they can affect you.
Working with the Minnesota DUI lawyers at Sieben Edmunds Miller will ensure that you are given fair treatment and the best possible results.
Don’t Let A DWI Conviction Derail Your Life!
Being accused of DWI or DUI can have a dramatic impact on your life. Choosing the right DWI attorney to defend you can mean the difference between a slap on the wrist and lifelong consequences. If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI, you need an experienced Minneapolis criminal defense lawyer and St.Paul criminal defense lawyer to help get you through this tough time in your life. Challenging a DWI / DUI case can be a complex process, but an experienced attorney knows what it takes.
The team at Sieben Edmunds Miller has helped many individuals charged with DUI or DWI clear their names and avoid a conviction. You can reach us by calling (651) 323-2464.
Minnesota DWI Offense Levels
Sieben Edmunds Miller
Fourth Degree DWI in Minnesota
A fourth degree DWI may be a misdemeanor, but it should not be taken lightly. You will generally be charged with fourth degree DWI if it is your first offense and you took a blood alcohol test that returned a result of .08 or more, but less than .16. You can also be charged with a 4th degree DWI if your results are below .08 if it is alleged that you were impaired by alcohol while driving. This charge comes with a punishment of up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Third Degree DWI in Minnesota
If you are charged with a third degree DWI, your alleged crime has been escalated to a gross misdemeanor. This may be deemed necessary by the court if you have had a previous DWI charge in ten years or if you refused to take a blood alcohol test at the time of your arrest. You also can be charged with a DWI if your chemical test returns a result greater than .16. You face up to a year in jail and up to a $3,000 fine if you are convicted of a third degree DWI.
Second Degree DWI in Minnesota
When you are charged with a second degree DWI you are facing a gross misdemeanor charge. This may be your current charge if you have been charged with two DWI offenses in the past ten years, or if you have been charged with DWI once before but aggravating factors exist. The punishment for a second degree DWI is up to one year in jail, up to a $3,000 fine, and the potential of your vehicle being seized.
First Degree DWI in Minnesota
A first degree DWI is considered the most serious type of DWI offense. It is a felony in the state of Minnesota. You can be charged with a first degree DWI if you have been charged with one previously, if you have a prior conviction for criminal vehicular operation, or if you have had three prior DWI incidents in the past ten years. A first degree DWI conviction is the most serious, with a potential of up to seven years in prison and up to a $14,000 fine.
Blood Alcohol Test Refusal
Refusing a blood alcohol test at the time of your arrest for a DUI or DWI can mean an immediate suspension of your license. It can also affect the level of offense you are charged with. However, you do have a right to refuse certain types of tests. For example, you can refuse to take either a blood or urine test, but you cannot refuse both. The attorneys at Sieben Edmunds Miller will analyze the facts and the law regarding your test refusal charge.
Aggravating factors are another aspect of your charges that can affect your offense level. There can be a variety of aggravating factors. When you work with the lawyers of Sieben Edmunds Miller we will explain to you the specifics of your case and how to best defend against the alleged aggravating factors.
If you’re facing a DWI charge, you can trust the experienced Minnesota lawyers at Sieben Edmunds Miller to advocate for you. We proudly serve the cities of Burnsville, Bloomington, Minneapolis, Woodbury, Eagan, Mendota Heights, St. Paul, Hastings, Hudson, and River Falls in DWI cases. We also serve surrounding cities in Dakota County and throughout Minnesota and Wisconsin.
Get a Free Case Evaluation
We are here to help. Let us evaluate your case for you. Free of charge – no obligation. Complete our free case evaluation form or call us directly at (651) 323-2464.
Recent Blog Posts
Changes to Minnesota’s DWI Forfeiture Laws: How They Affect Defendants
Recent changes to Minnesota’s property seizure laws aim to make it easier for defendants who are found not guilty to regain possession of property seized at the time of their arrest or during a lawful search. Property seizure is common in several types of criminal...
Reasonable Suspicion for a DWI Charge: Is Swerving Enough?
Here’s a situation our Minnesota DWI lawyers frequently encounter: a driver is stopped on suspicion of DWI. When they ask the law enforcement officer why they were pulled over, they learn that they have been accused of swerving while driving. If they are subsequently...
How Long Does A DWI Stay On Your Record in Minnesota?
A DWI conviction can make life very difficult. It may affect your ability to get a new job, rent a house or apartment, or travel to countries with strict DWI laws. Understandably, many people who have been convicted of a DWI wonder how long they’ll have to deal with...
Is Hungover Driving Illegal in Minnesota?
If you’re on the mend from a big night out drinking, you may be experiencing the unpleasant effects of a hangover: headache, fatigue, nausea, and general unease. We usually assume that a hangover means we’ve slept off the alcohol and we’re ready to start our day. But...
Minnesota’s Implied Consent Laws: Refusing DWI Chemical Testing
Implied consent means that when a driver chooses to get behind the wheel, they are consenting to a sobriety test. Minnesota’s implied consent laws are meant to encourage drivers to comply with testing, and they impose penalties on any driver who refuses to take a...
Minnesota’s Zero Tolerance for Teens Drinking and Driving
DWIs are one of the most common criminal charges in Minnesota. Some estimates show that one out of every seven drivers in Minnesota has a DWI on their record. Since prosecutors see this charge often, it can be difficult to avoid a DWI conviction without compelling...
Free Case Evaluation
Note: The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.