Posted: September 15, 2015
Commuting to work, dropping children off at school, and running errands are daily occurrences in most people’s lives. Without a license, accomplishing these tasks can be incredibly difficult. Fortunately, there is an option for getting your license reinstated for limited purposes. A limited license may be your best bet to getting back on the road.
What is a limited license?
In Minnesota, a limited license (also known as a work permit) is a paper license that is issued by the commissioner of public safety. When a license is revoked because of a first-time DWI under .16 or test refusal, an individual can apply for a limited license. This type of license permits a person to drive to and from work, chemical dependency treatment, meet family needs, or attend post-secondary education. Restrictions are placed on when, where, and how often a person can drive. According to Minnesota Statute 171.30, subdivision four, a person who violates a restriction is guilty of a misdemeanor and forfeits the limited license privileges for at least 30 days or the remainder of the revocation period, whichever is longer.
How can I obtain a limited license?
One must file an application for a limited driver’s license with the Department of Public Safety after a waiting period. In a first-time DWI or test refusal context, an application can be submitted after a 15 day waiting period that starts after being issued the seven day temporary license. An applicant must also pass tests, pay a license reinstatement fee, and apply for a new Minnesota driver’s license.
The attorneys at Sieben Edmunds PLLC can determine whether you qualify for a limited license. Give us a call at 651-994-6744 or visit our contact page to find out how we can help you.
Stay tuned for the next installment in this DWI blog series!