Select Page

Under 21 Drinking and Driving Laws

by Nov 28, 2012Criminal Defense Attorney, DWI / DUI

DUI’s are never a good thing but can be even worse for those under the age of 21. If you are under the age of 21 and are caught driving after drinking, you could be charged with two different types of offenses. If you are .07 or less, you most likely will be charged with the offense of Underage Drinking and Driving. Underage drinking and driving is a misdemeanor level offense and a conviction could result in a drivers license revocation. The length of this revocation can vary from 30 days to 180 days.

The other type of offense you could be charged with is DWI / DUI. If your blood alcohol concentration is over .08 you will be charged with a DWI / DUI under the same statute as any other driver over .08. All drivers including minors are subject to DWI penalties in adult court. Individuals charged with DWI under 21 can face severe license revocation penalties.

Whether it is an Under 21 Drinking and Driving or a DWI / DUI the right attorney can make the difference. Contact Kevin today at 952-224-2929.

Related Posts

How Long Does A DWI Stay On Your Record in Minnesota?

How Long Does A DWI Stay On Your Record in Minnesota?

A DWI conviction can make life very difficult. It may affect your ability to get a new job, rent a house or apartment, or travel to countries with strict DWI laws. Understandably, many people who have been convicted of a DWI wonder how long they’ll have to deal with...

Should I Sign My Traffic Ticket If I Did Nothing Wrong?

Should I Sign My Traffic Ticket If I Did Nothing Wrong?

You should always do your best to protect your rights during an interaction with law enforcement  – just because a police officer asks you to do something, it doesn’t mean you are required by law to agree. Law enforcement officers are eager to issue tickets, so the...

Three Forgery Charges in Minnesota

Three Forgery Charges in Minnesota

Were you recently arrested for forgery? You may be wondering how seriously to take this charge. After all, using a fake ID or selling a pair of knockoff Nikes may not seem like a big deal. But you should know that any forgery charge can lead to time in prison and...