If you’ve been arrested for a first- or second-degree DWI, you could find yourself subjected to jail time even before sentencing. Some offenders post bail, while others may be required to submit to Remote Electronic Alcohol Monitoring (REAM).
Abstaining from alcohol is often a term of pre-trial release, but it’s not merely a request: REAM enforces the requirement with breath-alcohol measurements. These measurements are taken daily at a minimum, and could be even more often depending on the terms of your release.
In Minnesota, REAM is invoked in pre-trial situations for people who fall into one of the following categories:
- A third implied consent or DWI violation within ten years;
- A second violation, if under 19 years of age;
- A violation while already cancelled as inimical to public safety for a prior violation; or
- A violation involving an alcohol concentration of .20 or more.
REAM isn’t just for pre-trial scenarios. According to the Minnesota State Legislature, most third-time DWI offenders (and all DWI offenders under the age of 19) must submit to REAM “for at least 30 days each year of probation.”
Ready to be monitored? It may not be up to you. But you can get the support of a knowledgeable attorney who can ensure that your rights are protected.