Select Page

DWI Life Sentence

by Oct 25, 2013DWI / DUI, News Stories, Sam Edmunds

man_cuffsWith good legal representation, your first DWI usually can get you a $300 fine and some probation and classes. A second offense might yield a 30 day sentence. More priors, high alcohol readings, and test refusals can make the consequences much worse. In Minnesota, causing injury or death while driving impaired converts the offense to a “Criminal Vehicular Operation/Homicide” and increases the maximum possible penalties dramatically. But did you know that a person can be sentenced to life in prison for a DWI/DUI crime? Check out this story out of Texas at San Antonio Express News, and don’t drink and drive.

Related Posts

What Not to Say When Pulled Over For Speeding

What Not to Say When Pulled Over For Speeding

Receiving a speeding ticket may not be quite as severe as some of the criminal defense charges we defend our clients against, but it’s inconvenient nonetheless. No one wants an offense on their record because they were driving just a few miles per hour over the limit....

Understanding Your Assault Charge in Minnesota

Understanding Your Assault Charge in Minnesota

Charges such as assault, domestic assault, strangulation, and threats of violence are jarring to receive. These are serious, fact-specific charges that should always be handled by a Minnesota assault criminal defense lawyer. The stakes in an assault case are...