Every time the same individual is charged with a DWI, they face more severe consequences. While a first-time defendant may not be significantly affected by a DWI conviction, a third-offense DWI in Minnesota within the same ten year period can lead to serious charges and repercussions. Anyone who is facing a third-offense DWI charge should work with an experienced attorney in Minnesota to ensure they protect their own rights and contribute to positively resolving their case.
Minnesota Third Offense DWI Laws
Minnesota levels of DWI charges range from fourth degree DWI, which is a misdemeanor, to first degree DWI, a felony. If this is your third DWI within 10 years, your charge will be second degree DWI, a gross misdemeanor charge. This is the same charge that someone with their second DWI will get if there are aggravating factors. It’s important for you to know that if you are convicted of second degree DWI and are charged with DWI again within ten years, you will then be facing a felony charge. Ten years is a long time, and a lot can happen. That’s why it’s so important that you work with a criminal defense attorney now to try to obtain a not guilty verdict.
Minnesota’s Impaired Driving Penalties
Minnesota’s third offense DWI penalties are stiff. If convicted, you will face up to one year in jail. This can be in addition to up to a $3,000 fine. It’s important to note that these are just the criminal penalties. The administrative penalties for a third-time DWI will lead to a lengthy drivers license revocation, vehicle license plate impoundment, and can include vehicle forfeiture, even if you do not own the vehicle you’re driving.
As you are already aware if you’ve had previous DWIs, another conviction may have a significant impact on your life. Defendants who are forced to spend time in jail are rarely able to return to their old job once they’ve served their time. You may lose your home, struggle to pay bills, and experience a complete lifestyle change because of your DWI. Working with an attorney to minimize the impact of your current charge is the only way you may be able to avoid these severe consequences.
DWI Attorneys in Minnesota
With each DWI charge you receive in a ten year period, it becomes more and more important to obtain the best possible outcome to your case. There aren’t many ways to overcome a third DWI without significant punishments, so if you’re facing such a serious charge, it’s imperative to work with a skillful criminal defense attorney to do everything that can possibly be done.
Sieben Edmunds Miller’s criminal defense lawyers have handled hundreds of DWI cases in Minnesota and Wisconsin. Our award-winning team has a state-wide reputation for achieving positive results for our clients. We help our clients address DWI-related issues like plate impoundment, license revocation, unreasonable sentences, and more. If you are facing your third DWI in ten years, contact the Sieben Edmunds Miller team to receive our compassionate and experienced legal guidance. Call (651) 994-6744 or submit your information here.
If you’re facing a DWI charge, you can trust the experienced Minnesota lawyers at Sieben Edmunds Miller to advocate for you. We proudly serve the cities of Burnsville, Bloomington, Minneapolis, Woodbury, Eagan, Mendota Heights, St. Paul, Hastings, Hudson, and River Falls in DWI cases. We also serve surrounding cities in Dakota County and throughout Minnesota and Wisconsin.
Get a Free Case Evaluation
We are here to help. Let us evaluate your case for you. Free of charge – no obligation. Complete our free case evaluation form or call us directly at (651) 323-2464.
Recent Blog Posts
Changes to Minnesota’s DWI Forfeiture Laws: How They Affect Defendants
Recent changes to Minnesota’s property seizure laws aim to make it easier for defendants who are found not guilty to regain possession of property seized at the time of their arrest or during a lawful search. Property seizure is common in several types of criminal...
Reasonable Suspicion for a DWI Charge: Is Swerving Enough?
Here’s a situation our Minnesota DWI lawyers frequently encounter: a driver is stopped on suspicion of DWI. When they ask the law enforcement officer why they were pulled over, they learn that they have been accused of swerving while driving. If they are subsequently...
How Long Does A DWI Stay On Your Record in Minnesota?
A DWI conviction can make life very difficult. It may affect your ability to get a new job, rent a house or apartment, or travel to countries with strict DWI laws. Understandably, many people who have been convicted of a DWI wonder how long they’ll have to deal with...
Is Hungover Driving Illegal in Minnesota?
If you’re on the mend from a big night out drinking, you may be experiencing the unpleasant effects of a hangover: headache, fatigue, nausea, and general unease. We usually assume that a hangover means we’ve slept off the alcohol and we’re ready to start our day. But...
Minnesota’s Implied Consent Laws: Refusing DWI Chemical Testing
Implied consent means that when a driver chooses to get behind the wheel, they are consenting to a sobriety test. Minnesota’s implied consent laws are meant to encourage drivers to comply with testing, and they impose penalties on any driver who refuses to take a...
Minnesota’s Zero Tolerance for Teens Drinking and Driving
DWIs are one of the most common criminal charges in Minnesota. Some estimates show that one out of every seven drivers in Minnesota has a DWI on their record. Since prosecutors see this charge often, it can be difficult to avoid a DWI conviction without compelling...
Free Case Evaluation
Note: The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.